Find Posts About:



Site search

Citizen Advisory Board to Host Capital Improvements Program Budget Forums

Provide input into the County’s next six-year (2019-2024) capital construction budget by attending an upcoming forum that will help define construction and planning priorities as officials develop the Fiscal Years 2019 to 2024 Capital Improvements Program (CIP) budget. The Mid-County CIP Budget Forum will be held July 10th at 7:00 pm at the Mid-County Community Recreation Center, 2004 Queensguard Road, Silver Spring, 240-777-8101. Suggestions and comments from participants will be considered by the Mid-County Citizens Advisory Board for inclusion in its funding priority list that it will submit to the County Executive. Lists from all the citizen advisory boards will be shared with County departments and agencies for their consideration as they formulate the CIP for their departments.

County Council to Hold Town Hall in Olney September 14th

The Montgomery County Council, which each year holds Town Hall Meetings throughout the County in its efforts to find out what issues most concern residents, will meet with residents of the Olney area at a Town Hall Meeting at 8 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 14. The meeting will be held at Rosa Parks Middle School, 19200 Olney Mill Road in Olney. A pre-meeting reception will begin at 7:30 p.m.

For more information regarding the Town Hall Meeting, call 240-777-7931. For more information see

Olney Manor Park Gate Closing Meeting

Please note a revised (later) start time by the Montgomery County Parks to the below meeting.

Montgomery Parks has recently posted notification of an upcoming closure of the southern entrance (from Batchellors Forest Rd) into Olney Manor Recreational Park.  The public’s concern on the decision has resulted in Montgomery Parks coordinating a forum to better summarize the matter and allow the neighbors to voice their concerns.  Following up on the community request, Montgomery Parks would like to announce a community meeting to review the decision and allow public comments.  Please mark your calendars to attend the following:

Community Meeting
Olney Manor Recreational Park- Review Southern Entrance Closure
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
7:30pm – 9:00pm
Washington Christian Academy
16227 Batchellors Forest Road
Olney, MD 20832


Montgomery Parks has delayed the gate closure until the community has had an opportunity to solicit their comments regarding the gate closure.  They are scheduling the attendance of Montgomery Parks Planning staff as well as Maryland’s State Highway Administration and Montgomery County’s Department of Transportation representatives to help review the history of the development of Batchellors Forest Road and the current developments.  The public will be given an opportunity to comment and ask questions.  All questions and comments will be reviewed and considered before any future decisions are rendered on the permanent closure.

Olney Days – Weather Updates

The Fun Fair, at Olney Manor Park, and the Fireworks have been CANCELLED for Saturday May 21st due to the weather

Joe’s Ride is ON

Olney Idol is ON

Shred Event (back parking lot of Sandy Spring Bank) is ON

Car & Truck show is CANCELLED


Rock the Lot Block Party and Beer & Wine Garden are rain or shine events so will be ON. There are plenty of tents to keep you dry if it is raining. Come enjoy live music on the Shopper’s Stage, the beer and wine garden, food trucks. and Vendor Village.

The Greater Olney 2016 Board of Education Candidates Debate

The Greater Olney Civic Association (GOCA) hosted a debate of the Montgomery County Board of Education (BOE) At Large candidates on April 11, 2016. The At-Large Candidates that participated include Sebastian Johnson, Phil Kauffman, and Gwendolyn Love Kimbrough. Jeanette Dixon and Mike Ibanez confirmed their attendance, but then had a conflict arise.